Research Tools: Introductory Alaska History Research Guide

There's several editions of this work by Donald Orth, the earliest being the 1968 edition, but the revised 1971 edition is more comprehensive. Orth, as it is known by many scholars, is one of the most important reference works about Alaska. It attempts to list every geographic location in the state, give a brief history, and provide coordinates. Organized alphabetically and with detailed maps, Orth provides insight into often shifting location names and population booms and busts that are so common in Alaska.

Alaskana Catholica is a reference work in the format of an encyclopedia. It offers readers something more than mere bare-bones reference data and Who's Whos. Moreover, some entries have a story about the given entry's subject attached to them. Some have a "tapestry" woven out of a series of quotations from the mission diary of the given place attached to them. These stories and tapestries give readers a kind of "you are there" experience, of being present at an event of the past or at a place remote to them. Close to 400 images illustrate Alaskana Catholica. Embellished with several hundred photographs, the text is cross-referenced throughout by use of bold type to indicate entries that expand on the individual or place being discussed. A thorough bibliography and comprehensive index add to the book's accessibility and ease of use. Published for the Society of Jesus, Oregon Province, by the Arthur H. Clark Company. Contains a bibliography, and index. Supplemented by an introduction and chronology.

This handbook provides broad coverage of the languages indigenous to North America, with special focus on typologically interesting features and areal characteristics, surveys of current work, and topics of particular importance to communities. The volume is divided into two major parts: subfields of linguistics and family sketches. The subfields include those that are customarily addressed in discussions of North American languages (sounds and sound structure, words, sentences), as well as many that have received somewhat less attention until recently (tone, prosody, sociolinguistic variation, directives, information structure, discourse, meaning, language over space and time, conversation structure, evidentiality, pragmatics, verbal art, first and second language acquisition, archives, evolving notions of fieldwork). Family sketches cover major language families and isolates and highlight topics of special value to communities engaged in work on language maintenance, documentation, and revitalization.

This handbook provides broad coverage of the languages indigenous to North America, with special focus on typologically interesting features and areal characteristics, surveys of current work, and topics of particular importance to communities. The volume is divided into two major parts: subfields of linguistics and family sketches. The subfields include those that are customarily addressed in discussions of North American languages (sounds and sound structure, words, sentences), as well as many that have received somewhat less attention until recently (tone, prosody, sociolinguistic variation, directives, information structure, discourse, meaning, language over space and time, conversation structure, evidentiality, pragmatics, verbal art, first and second language acquisition, archives, evolving notions of fieldwork). Family sketches cover major language families and isolates and highlight topics of special value to communities engaged in work on language maintenance, documentation, and revitalization.

Detailed and cutting edge when published, this work covers the major indigenous groups of the arctic with information on regional languages, prehistory, anthropological and archeological coverage.

Includes books and pamphlets, printings in which Alaska is represented by a chapter or section. Omits publications of the U.S. and State governments, serials, manuscripts, theses and diaries. Contains 5,040 entries arranged alphabetically by author, with subject index.