Guides: Research Tools: The Movement Towards Alaska Statehood

The Movement Towards Alaska Statehood

The narrative of Alaska's movement towards statehood is a rich one, inhabited with compelling stories and a long line of colorful characters. Through their persistence to achieve statehood, they galvanized Alaskans, and ultimately the nation, to action.

The materials highlighted in this guide were created by the people who were directly involved. Examples include committee reports and notes from a Constitutional Convention delegate, or a television broadcast of a debate about the need for Alaskan statehood, correspondence of the Alaskan delegates to Congress, political cartoons depicting the Alaskan plight, and recorded interviews with those who played key roles in the struggle.

Please Note: This guide was originally created in commemoration of the 50th anniversary of Alaska's admission into the Union. The Alaska & Polar Regions Collections (APR), with funding from the Alaska Humanities Forum, published a paper bibliography as an attempt to familiarize researchers with the primary resources available in our collections pertaining to the statehood movement. This research guide is currently being updated and do not reflect the entire scope of our collections at the current time.

Selected Collections & Research Resources

Alaska Constitutional Convention Papers, 1955–1956
3 cu. ft. This collection contains records generated from the Alaska Constitutional Convention held on the University of Alaska campus from November 1955 through February 1956. The collection is a compilation from different sources and includes a copy of the clerk’s journal from the convention, the official Convention proceedings, as well as the biography sheets filled out by the delegates, committee reports, ceremony programs, and informational handbooks and bulletins for the delegates. The collection also contains a microfilm copy of the Alaska Constitutional Convention Papers in the Alaska State Archives consisting of administrative and committee files from the Convention.
Alaska Statehood Collection, 1943-1980
1 cu. ft. The Alaska Statehood Collection contains correspondence, press releases, statements, speeches, and reports from the Territorial congressional delegation as well as other federal officials pertaining to the Statehood movement. The collection also includes newsclippings and journal articles, legislative bill drafts and analyses, brochures published by the Alaska Statehood Association and Alaska Statehood Committee, as well as a copy of the Constitution of Alaska.
Alaska Statehood Miscellanea, 1950–1984
1 cu. ft. This open collection contains files related to Alaskan Statehood, including newspaper clippings, first day cover stamps and Alaska Statehood Day programs.
Alaska Statehood Records, 1950-1959
0.5 cu. ft. The Alaska Statehood Records document the final decade of Alaska's push to become a state. The collection includes Alaska statehood bills introduced in the U. S. House and Senate in 1957, sections of the Congressional Record pertaining to the statehood movement, the texts of speeches, and miscellaneous publications and newspaper clippings.
Bartlett, E.L. "Bob" Papers, 1924-1970
306 cu. ft. The E. L. "Bob" Bartlett Papers consist of reports and publications, subject and case files, correspondence, articles and speeches, audiotapes, newspaper clippings, films, scrapbooks, memorabilia, ephemera and other materials all relating to the life and career of Edward Lewis "Bob" Bartlett. The collection focuses on Bartlett's political career. Over three-fourths of the materials are included in Series One which is devoted to federal departments and agencies. Within this series, the bulk of the collection deals with the Departments of Interior and Defense. Included are materials relating to Alaska Statehood, Bartlett's personal scrapbooks, and his personal correspondence. The Legislative Bill File, comprising 111 boxes, is organized by Congressional session and contains legislation for the 79th through the 90th sessions (1945-1968). In addition to the manuscript materials, the collection includes audio recordings preserving speeches and debates in which Bartlett participated. Motion picture film captures events such as President Eisenhower's signing of the 1959 proclamation that made Alaska the forty-ninth state, earthquake relief efforts in Anchorage in May 1964, and the Bartlett re-election announcement in 1966.
Bartley, Ernest R. Constitutional Convention Papers, 1955-1994
1.5 cu. ft. Bartley was a professor of Political Science at University of Florida. He was very involved in the statehood movement, serving as a consultant to the Alaska Statehood Committee and to the Constitutional Convention. His papers contain a significant amount of correspondence with George Lehleitner concerning the Tennessee Plan as well as correspondence with Bob Bartlett, Ernest Gruening, Bob Atwood, and other political figures in Alaska as well as the U.S. House and Senate. Also included are newsletters and press releases from the Alaska Statehood Committee; materials from the Alaska Project, a study undertaken by one of Bartley's graduate classes analyzing every congressional district in the nation for statehood support; drafts and copies of various staff papers for the Convention which he worked on for the Public Administration Service; and a memo from 1994 where he critiques a report on statehood, providing a behind-the-scenes look at the people and events involved.
Beistline, Earl H. Papers, 1930-1950s
3 ft. The collection consists of material relating to Beistline's tenure as professor in the UAF mining department and correspondence, resolutions and reports from his work as a consultant for the Resources Committee at the Constitutional Convention held on the University of Alaska Fairbanks
campus. Five of the boxes contain photographs document his interest and work in gold mining and geology.
Dimond, Anthony J. Papers, 1904-1953
19 cu. ft. The Anthony J. Dimond Papers consist of 17.5 ft. of legislative, political and personal files relating to his work and activities from 1904 in Valdez until his death in 1953 in Anchorage. However, the largest bulk of material in the Papers, the Legislative Bill File, Public Works File, and Political Correspondence and Subject File relate directly to his office as the Territorial Delegate to Congress from Alaska for six terms, 1933-45. His activities as Federal Court Judge, Anchorage, 1945-53, are represented in the Personal Files.
Egan, William A. Papers, 1940-1984
24 cu. ft. Bill Egan served as President of the Constitutional Convention and as one of the Tennessee Plan Senators before ultimately serving three terms as Alaska State Governor. Series I of his papers, Constitutional Convention files, consists of Egan's personal records from the Convention including his correspondence. The bulk of Series II, Tennessee Plan Files, consists of Egan's correspondence from when he served as a Senator to Congress under the Tennessee Plan. Other materials in this collection which document Egan's work for statehood include his speeches, hearing testimonies, and political correspondence. Researchers might also be interested in his gubernatorial research files and constituent correspondence, which document many of the issues that concerned Alaskans during the early years of statehood.
Gruening, Ernest Papers, 1914-1974
315 cu. ft. Ernest H. Gruening was born in New York City on February 6, 1887. Gruening's political career included directorship of the Division of Territories and Island Possessions of the Department of the Interior from 1934-1939; he was administrator of the Puerto Rico Reconstruction Administration from 1935-1937, member of the Alaska International Highway Commission from 1938-1842, and was appointed Territorial Governor of Alaska in 1939 and reappointed twice, serving until 1953. Gruening was known as "the father of Alaska statehood." He was elected as a Democrat to the United States Senate in 1958 and served until 1969. While a Senator, Gruening supported civil rights legislation, government funding for distribution of birth control information, and economic foreign aid. He was opposed to foreign military aid and to the war in Vietnam. The bulk of the collection relates to Gruening's years as a United States Senator from Alaska.
Ferber, Edna Collection, 1958
0.5 ft. This collection consists of a two-volume unrevised proof of the manuscript for Ferber's novel Ice Palace, which was set in Fairbanks, Alaska, in the 1950s. The work is notable for its discussion of the struggle for Alaskan statehood. Alaska Territorial Governor Ernest Gruening regarded the novel as important publicity for the statehood campaign.
Fischer, Victor Papers, 1954-1976
Victor Fischer served in the Territorial Legislature and was a delegate to the Constitutional Convention. He also worked for the organization Operation Statehood as its Vice-president. His papers contain a review draft manuscript of his 1975 book, The Alaska Constitutional Convention, along with his research materials in writing it including newsclippings, correspondence, convention materials, and Fischer’s notes as well as notes written by those invited by Fischer to review the draft. There are also some memoranda, statements, and lobbying materials from his work with Operation Statehood. Fischer also organized an Alaska Constitutional Review forum and Delegates reunion in 1976 and there is one box of correspondence, mailers, and programs generating from the arrangement and activities of the event.
Flakne, Joseph T. Papers, 1926-1999
10 cu. ft. Joseph Flakne worked as the director of the Alaska Territorial Employment Service before ultimately serving as the chief of the Alaska Division for the U.S. Office of Territories to, in his words, "fight for statehood". Of particular interest are the papers during his time as Alaska Chief from 1946-1953 in the Work Files series, as the correspondence, memoranda, and reports which crossed Flakne's desk document how the federal government responded to the needs of Alaskan citizens. These papers represent a wide range of pre-statehood issues the Territory grappled with including resource management, health care, transportation needs, and labor allocation.
Harrais Family Collection, ca. 1895-1965
5 cu. ft. Martin and Margaret Harrais each assumed several different roles during their lives in Alaska. He was primarily a prospector and business speculator, she an educator and Prohibitionist, and both served as U.S. Commissioner in Valdez at different times. They also were ardent proponents of Statehood and their papers reflect this. Researchers will be interested in Margaret’s correspondence, particularly one folder titled "Statehood Correspondence", which contains her communications with the Secretary of the Interior, Bob Bartlett, Anthony Dimond, Ernest Gruening, and Evangeline Atwood regarding statehood issues and the development of local pro-statehood chapters. Martin's papers include his unpublished manuscript "Gold Lunatics" which is, in part, an autobiography as well as an historical account of the federal mismanagement of Alaska.
Hellenthal, John S. Collection, 1959-1962
3 cu. ft. John Hellenthal practiced law in Alaska for nearly 50 years. He was a delegate to the Constitutional Convention and his papers include reports, journals, proposals (many are annotated), notes, memoranda, and correspondence generating from his work at the Convention, particularly as Chairman of the Committee on Suffrage, Elections, and Apportionment. His papers also include his and other delegates' comments at a symposium hosted by John Whitehead commemorating the Convention's 25th anniversary in 1984.
Huber, Louis R. Papers, 1933-1966
36 cu. ft. Louis Huber was a freelance journalist whose articles appeared in Collier's and The Progressive, among other magazines and, for a decade, he covered Alaska for the Christian Science Monitor from 1945 to the mid-1950s. His papers contain his correspondence, notes, research files, photographs, and newsclippings of pertinent Alaskan issues during this period, not the least of which was the question of statehood. Researchers will find drafts and clippings on statehood and other Alaskan issues (Huber claimed to have written the first magazine article on statehood) as well as correspondence with notable political figures including Bob Bartlett, Ernest Gruening, and Anthony Dimond. The correspondence is especially useful as it gives a behind-the-scenes peek into statehood politics as Huber tried to scoop the inside story.
Ivey, Joseph W. Collection, 1892-1908
1 cu. ft. Ivey served as a U.S. Customs collector in Alaska from 1897-1902 before going to Washington D.C. to vigorously lobby for Alaskan issues. He bemoaned the neglect shown Alaska by the federal government and was a proponent of representation in Congress by establishing a Delegate position. His correspondence, statements, speeches, interview and hearing transcripts in the collection document these lobbying efforts.
Jessen, Ernest F. Cartoons, ca. 1920s
This collection contains five photographic copies of Alaska-related political cartoons drawn by Ernest Jessen. The cartoons humorously address issues relating to pre-statehood Alaska including unresponsive and over-regulatory federal bureaus and the exploitation of Alaskan resources by outside business interests.
Kay, Wendell Papers, 1955-1965
0.1 cu. ft. This collection consists of photocopies of Kay's scrapbook which document his activities in the Democratic Party as well as an attorney. Of particular relevance is folders 1-2 which cover Kay's tenure as Territorial Speaker of the House and Democratic Party chairman during a time in which statehood was a primary issue. Newsclippings and correspondence detail his support for Alaska statehood as well as his criticism of Republican and federal officials on such issues as fish traps and partitioning the Territory.
McCutcheon, Stanley Papers in the Candace Waugaman Collection, 1945-1960
Stanley McCutcheon served in the State legislature and was very active in the Democratic Party, serving as Party chairman in Alaska and also serving as the campaign manager for Bob Bartlett. His papers are filled with correspondence from Bartlett, Gruening, and other key Democrats which shed a light on the activities of the party in Alaska, particularly the impact the statehood question on state politics at this time.
Operation Statehood Records, 1953-1958
3 cu. ft. The records of the organization known as Operation Statehood reflect the complexities confronted by its members in their endeavor to achieve acceptance of Alaska as one of the United States. They include bills and resolutions of the Alaska Territorial legislatures, congressional reports pertaining to statehood for Alaska and Hawaii, reports from the Alaska Constitutional Convention, correspondence of congressional delegate E.L. Bartlett, and materials on the Alaska-Tennessee Plan.
Rivers, Ralph J. Papers, 1955-1966
90 cu. ft. Virtually all of this collection documents Rivers' tenure as Alaska’s first representative to Congress rather than his leadership in helping obtain statehood for Alaska. His papers do reflect the efforts of Alaska's congressional delegation in representing the interests of a new State which, with vast unutilized resources and remote populations, presented unique challenges. Rivers' papers include his correspondence, legislative files, interviews, and scrapbooks from his term in office.
Stepovich, Mike Papers, 1950-1966
7 cu. ft. Stepovich served in the Territorial Legislature before being appointed by Eisenower as Territorial Governor from 1957-1958. Although his political papers are located in the Alaska State Archives, this collection contains personal correspondence, speeches, and newsclippings which document his activities and support for statehood.
University of Alaska Fairbanks. Associated Students of the University of Alaska Records, 1926--
The records of the Associated student body contains a folder in Series 1 documenting the students' support of statehood. Materials include correspondence and resolutions from the Constitutional Convention thanking them for the use of their student union as well as a plea by the President of ASUA to students across the country to endorse statehood for Alaska and communicate this to their congressional delegations. The bulk of the folder consists of correspondence from colleges and universities nationwide with information of action taken. Another folder in Series I contains minutes and proposals from a parallel Constitutional Convention the students held while the Alaska Constitutional Convention was being conducted in 1955-1956.

Papers of Alaska Constitutional Convention , 1955-1956. Papers of Alaska Constitutional Convention, 1955-1956. by Alaska. Constitutional Convention (1955-1956)
Call Number: 3682 ALASKA MFILM
4 reels | These are the original administrative and committee files from the Constitutional Convention, microfilmed in 1981 by the Alaska Legislative Reference Library. Materials include correspondence received at the convention as well as by the committees, committee minutes and proposals, financial records, press releases, speeches, and copies of ledgers maintained by the Secretariat. Microfilmed in the Alaska Historical Collections of the Alaska State Library, Juneau.
Files of the Alaskan territorial governors , 1884-1919. Files of the Alaskan territorial governors, 1884-1919. by Alaska. Office of the Governor
Call Number: 3832 ALASKA MFILM
44 reels | Part of the records of the Alaskan territorial government; These records document the development of Alaska, both economically and administratively, as well as the complexities it faced as an isolated territory under federal oversight. Microfilmed in the Alaska State Archives, Juneau.
Records of the Alaskan Territorial Legislature, 1913-1953. by Alaska. Legislature
Call Number: 3820 ALASKA MFILM
21 reels | Part of the records of the Alaskan territorial government; These records document the development of Alaska, both economically and administratively, as well as the complexities it faced as an isolated territory under federal oversight. Microfilmed in the Alaska State Archives, Juneau.
General correspondence of the Alaskan territorial governor, 1909-1958. by Alaska. Office of the Governor
Call Number: 3862 ALASKA MFILM
378 reels | Part of the records of the Alaskan territorial government; These records document the development of Alaska, both economically and administratively, as well as the complexities it faced as an isolated territory under federal oversight. Microfilmed in the Alaska State Archives, Juneau.
Correspondence of the Secretary of Alaska, 1900-1913. by Alaska. Office of the Secretary
Call Number: 3670 ALASKA MFILM
20 reels | Part of the records of the Alaskan territorial government; These records document the development of Alaska, both economically and administratively, as well as the complexities it faced as an isolated territory under federal oversight. Microfilmed in the Alaska State Archives, Juneau.
Record group 48, Records of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior ; and, Record group 126, Records of the Office of Territories [microform] : selected documents relating to Alaskan statehood, 1907-1960. by United States. Dept. of the Interior. Office of the Secretary
Call Number: 3853 ALASKA MFILM
1 reel | This microfilm reel contains federal records related to Alaska. Most of it relates to statehood, i.e. SB 951 and HR 3898 and is in the form of reports and statistics. From an historical perspective, there is some mention of the significance of Alaska's strategic location in the war effort. There is some correspondence to President Elect Eisenhower concerning political appointments. Microfilmed in the National Archives and Records Administration, Washington D.C.
James A. Wickersham diaries (Alaska), 1900 Jan. 1-1939 Apr. 27. by Wickersham, James
Call Number: 3646 ALASKA MFILM
11 reels | James Wickersham was Alaska's Third Delegate to Congress. During his tenure as Delegate, he secured passage of the Organic Act of 1912 which granted Alaska territorial status and was the first to introduce a statehood bill for Alaska in 1916. These diary entries act as a daily record of Wickersham's activities as well as his views on events. Microfilmed in the Alaska Historical Collections of the Alaska State Library, Juneau.

Alaska and Hawaii statehood : broadcast on March 2, 1958. by See it Now (Television Program)
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 86-121-01
These cassettes are part of the William Egan collection. Narrator Edward Murrow quotes several famous senators from the past who have not supported statehood for states in the past and talks about Senator George Malone accusing Alaskans of not having knowledge of U.S. life, being different from us, and a small percentage of Alaskans ever visiting the United States, facts about Alaska, comments from homesteaders in Alaska, selected places in Alaska, Alaska outposts protecting the United States, the Alaska Highway, military in Alaska, territory economy, the Seattle fish traps affecting fish populations with comments from Robert Atwood, need for representation, comments from John Manders about why Alaska needs to be a commonwealth and not a state, comments from William Arnold about the decrease in the fish populations, need for infrastructure in Alaska, high freight rates, gold mining and oil possibilities, wood products, comments from Delegate Bob Bartlett about the Jones Act (Merchant Marine Act), comments from Mike Stepovich who supports statehood, comments from Senator George Malone about why he is against statehood, and Hawaii's battle for statehood.
Alaska Court System History Tapes by Naske, Claus-M.
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 82-68-01/16, 82-70-01/04
These interviews were conducted by Claus Naske with various people involved with the judicial activities of Alaska. They discuss the transition from Territory to State. Interviewees include Thomas Stewart, Buell Nesbett, Everett Hepp, James Fitzgerald, Bill Stump, Wendell Kay, Olga T. Steger, and Eugene Bellaud.
Alaska Statehood Commission Tapes by Alaska Statehood Commission
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 82-01/53
At the behest of the Alaska Statehood Commission in 1981, Claus Naske, John Whitehead, and William Schneider interviewed 54 key individuals involved in the statehood movement. The group principally included delegates to the Alaska constitutional convention and others identified as having shown a strong political interest in the statehood issue. The interviewers sought both the memories these people had of the statehood movement and their assessment of the success, or lack thereof, of statehood at that current time. A summary of these interviews can be found in the publication Alaska Statehood: The Memory of the Battle and the Evaluation of the Present by Those who Lived It.
Alaska Statehood Tapes by Whitehead, John S.
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 84-04, 88-14, 88-40, 2000-10, 2015-29
The Alaska Statehood Tapes are a collection of sound recordings pertaining to Statehood, the bulk of which are interviews conducted by John Whitehead for his research that ultimately led to the publication of Completing the Union: Alaska, Hawaii, and the Struggle for Statehood. H84-04 are sound recordings of events commemorating the 25th anniversary of Statehood including the Alaska Statehood Dinner, the Statehood Stamp ceremony, and Statehood Day at Constitution Park. The rest of the collection consists of interviews with Jay Hammond, Ted Stevens, Ernest Bartley, Russell Long, George Sundborg, James C. Wright, Sparky Matsunaga, Lindy Boggs, and Mr. and Mrs. George Lehleitner.
Bob Bartlett interviews John Saylor, William Knowland, Russell Long, and Clare Engle about the Alaska Tennessee Plan in a special broadcast recorded in Washington, D.C. and broadcast prior to the April 24, 1956 election to ratify the Alaska Constitution. by Saylor, John P.
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 86-122
These cassettes are part of the William Egan collection. Bob Bartlett said the program is being made at the request of the Alaska Statehood Committee. He talks about the upcoming election to approve the Alaska Constitution and interviews several politicians. Representative John P. Saylor of Pennsylvania talks about the Tennessee Alaska Plan, bringing the status of the state of Alaska to the attention of the rest of the United States, George Lehleitner, making progress for statehood, need for representation for Alaska, the close vote in the U.S. Senate, southerners concerns, and his approval of statehood for Alaska. Senator William Knowland talks about California's history of coming into the union and the Tennessee Plan, the right to take lawful means to bring the desire for statehood to the attention of the union, Alaska's destiny to become a great state of the union, and his support for and hope for statehood for Alaska and Hawaii. Senator Russell B. Long talks about the Tennessee Plan being used to achieve statehood, the Interior Affairs Insular Committee, taking time to be convinced about statehood, getting people to Washington to present the point of view of Alaska's people and his confidence that Alaska will become a state. Clare Engle talks about Bob Bartlett, the benefit of the Tennessee Plan for Alaska, less support for statehood compared to a couple of years ago, and the Tennessee Plan dramatizing the interest and aspirations to achieve statehood for Alaska.
Claus Naske Statehood Tapes by Naske, Claus-M
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 76-40/51, 81-18/19
These interviews were conducted in 1969 by Claus Naske in preparation for his thesis and subsequent books on the Alaskan statehood movement. Interviewees include Ralph Rivers, Bill Snedden, Thomas Stewart, Vic Fischer, Vide and Doris Ann Bartlett, Herbert Faulkner, Mary Lee Council, and Marie Dimond.
Creating Alaska: the Origins of the 49th State tapes by Cole, Terrence
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 2005-01
To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Alaska Constitutional Convention and eventual statehood, the University of Alaska launched the "Creating Alaska" project. A component of that project was to conduct interviews with remaining figures from the statehood era. Interviewees include George Sundborg, George and Jean Rogers, Tom Stewart, Helen Snedden and Chuck Gray, Robert DeArmond, Jay Hammond, Mike Stepovich, Jr., Katie Hurley, Walter Hickel, Neva Egan, Maynard Lundborg, and Jack Coghill, Sr. There are also videorecordings of these interviews located in the Alaska Film Archives.
Ernest Gruening Tapes by Gruening, Ernest
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 94-32-03
This is a sound recording of the opening address Gruening gave at Alaska Methodist University on March 2, 1967. Titled "Battle for Statehood", his speech touches on the problems, issues, and people involved with the movement towards Alaska statehood.
Faces of 1984 Tapes by Lester, Jean
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 92-08-01/50
From 1984-1988, Jean Lester conducted interviews with notable Alaskans which ultimately led to the book Faces of Alaska: a glimpse of history through paintings, photographs, and oral histories. Four of these interviewees—Olga Steger, Tony Zak, Al Larsen, and Niilo Koponen—reminisce about various aspects of Alaska's move to Statehood.
George Lehleitner talks about the Tennessee Plan at the Constitutional Convention in Fairbanks, Alaska in 1956. by Lehleitner, George
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 86-124
This audio is from the William Egan collection. An unidentified narrator talks about who George Lehleitner is and his support for statehood for Alaska and Hawaii. Excerpts from Lehleitner's address at the Constitutional Convention. He talks about his experience with Hawaii's search for statehood, his belief that statehood won't be achieved with current methods, bills in the legislature for statehood for Alaska and Hawaii in the past, partisanship in Congress, opponents for statehood, southerners in Congress controlling committees and opposing statehood, addition of new states and the question of making room in the House of Representatives, previous limits for the House of Representatives, underestimating the size of the opposition in the past, alternate route to statehood, the Tennessee Plan being used by other territories to achieve statehood, explanation of the first use of the Tennessee Plan, Alaska and Hawaii using the same plan for success, sending representatives to Washington, D.C., getting the attention of the people in the United States about their desire for statehood, and choosing the right representatives from Alaska. An unknown speaker and narrator briefly discuss natural resources management.
Sunday at Noon by McInnis, Susan
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 89-24/26, 89-31, 93-20, 97-63, 2017-02
These are interviews conducted by Susan McInnis for her radio show "Sunday at Noon" on KUAC. The interviewees, respective to the collection numbers listed above, are Robert Atwood, Walter Hickel, Elmer Rasmuson, and George Sundborg. Each person relates their Alaskan experiences including their memories of Statehood.

Alaska Statehood, the first 25 years, 1983 by Alaska Video Productions
Call Number: AAF-294
Copied from raw film footage, this 22 minute program was produced to commemorate the 25th anniversary of Alaska statehood. Speakers include John Butrovich, Bob Atwood, H.A. "Red" Boucher, Helen Fischer, Bill Egan, Connie Bouchiever, George Sullivan, Lea Rasmussen, E.Z. Gilbreath, Ted Stevens, Chuck West, Augie Hiebert, Earl Beistline, Bill Hopkins, Emil Notti, Jim Clark, and Dr. Wood.
Alaska 49th state: [part 1]. by Machetanz, Fred and Sara
Call Number: AAF-1134
This is part 1 of a 2-part series. These images were filmed and narrated by Fred and Sara Machetanz for use in their lectures when they traveled outside of Alaska. Footage pertaining to the statehood movement include the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner headline "Alaska 49th State", George Sundborg checking teletype and noting the passage of the statehood legislation on June 30, 1958, statehood headlines from the Anchorage Daily Times and Anchorage Daily News, men launching a large star suspended by helium balloons from the Polaris building roof in Fairbanks, a line of people signing a giant telegram in Fairbanks, and a statehood parade down 2nd Avenue in downtown Fairbanks. A few of these film clips can be accessed online at the Alaska Digital Archives at http://vilda.alaska.edu.
Alaska 49th state: [part 2]. by Machetanz, Fred and Sara
Call Number: AAF-1135
This is part 2 of a 2-part series. These images were filmed and narrated by Fred and Sara Machetanz for use in their lectures when they traveled outside of Alaska. Footage pertaining to the statehood movement include the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner headline "Alaska 49th State", George Sundborg checking teletype and noting the passage of the statehood legislation on June 30, 1958, statehood headlines from the Anchorage Daily Times and Anchorage Daily News, men launching a large star suspended by helium balloons from the Polaris building roof in Fairbanks, a line of people signing a giant telegram in Fairbanks, and a statehood parade down 2nd Avenue in downtown Fairbanks. A few of these film clips can be accessed online at the Alaska Digital Archives at http://vilda.alaska.edu.
Celebration of Alaska Statehood
Call Number: AAF-454
This is a broadcast of the black-tie ceremony held January 3, 1984 at the University of Alaska Fairbanks kicking off the 25th anniversary of statehood. Speakers include Bill Egan and Augie Hiebert reminiscing upon the events leading up to statehood and Grace Schaible, Elmer Rasmuson, and William R. Wood reflecting upon the impact of statehood and the future of Alaska.
Facts Forum 36: Alaskan Statehood
Call Number: AAF-1423
This program was recorded in Dallas, Texas with moderator Dan Smoot interviewing Congressman Walter Rogers of Texas and Bob Bartlett, congressional delegate from Alaska about statehood for Alaska. Rogers speak out against the possibility and Bartlett supports the issue.
First Federal Presents
Call Number: AAF-2139
This is a program recorded at WCKI Television in Miami, Florida, with Senator-elect Ernest Gruening being interviews by Senator Harry Kane (?) about the need for Alaska statehood. Their interview touches on the history of federal oversight in Alaska with Kane listing the arguments against statehood and Gruening refuting each one.
Meet the New Senators
Call Number: AAF-2054, 2055
This CBS Television program was broadcast from the Sheraton-Carlton Hotel in Washington D.C. on January 11, 1959, to introduce the newest members of the U.S. Senate. Walter Cronkite hosted the Senators and their families who included the new Alaskan delegation to the Senate, E.L. "Bob" Bartlett and Ernest Gruening. Senator Bartlett discusses serving as one of the first senators for Alaska, casting his first vote in the Senate, and the draw for term-length against Ernest Gruening. Senator Gruening discusses some foreign policy as well as his appointment as Territorial Governor, the possibility of statehood for Hawaii, and the status of Puerto Rico.
[Senator Gruening talks with W.O. "Bo" Smith, Ben Shallit, James W. Wilson, Warren A. Taylor, and William T. Dunn] [videorecording].
Call Number: AAF-2010/2014
This is a four part series. These are interviews Gruening conducted for his television broadcast "Report to Alaska from Washington D.C." In part 1 (AAF-2010) he talks with Alaska State legislator Bo Smith about the state legislature and the transition to statehood. Part 4 (AAF-2013) contains his interview with Alaska State senator Warren Taylor about state and territorial government as well as his involvement with the Alaska Constitutional Convention.
See it now: statehood for Alaska and Hawaii?
Call Number: AAF-7348
In Part I of this program, Edward R. Murrow explores arguments for and against statehood for Alaska. Interviewees include Bob Atwood, William Arnold, Bob Bartlett, Mike Stepovich, George Malone (U.S. Senator from Nevada), Alaskan homesteaders, and University of Alaska students.

Research Tools: The Movement Towards Alaska Statehood

Contact the Alaska and Polar Regions Collections & Archives (APRCA)

The Movement Towards Alaska Statehood

Selected Collections & Research Resources