Guides: Research Tools: The Catholic Church In Alaska

Selected Research Resources related to the Catholic Church in Alaska

MANUSCRIPTS ON MICROFILM

The Alaska and Polar Regions Collections & Archives houses microfilmed copies of many materials that were held by Gonzaga University, many have been moved to the Jesuit Archives & Research Center, relating to Alaska. Most of these microfilm collections have accompanying printed guides which are very useful, as the collections are extensive. These materials are available anytime the library is open and do not require an appointment.

Alaska mission collection [microform], 1887-1955.
Call Number: 3611 ALASKA MFILM REEL 1
42 reels of microfilm. Part of the Oregon Province of the Society of Jesus Archives. Microfilmed copies of records from Jesuit missionary activities in Alaska. The materials include detailed accounts of activities in Alaska villages. The original records were held by Gonzaga University, Spokane, Washington until 2019, when they moved to the Jesuit Archives & Research Center in St. Louis. There is a guide to this collection called - Guide to the microfilm edition of the Oregon Province archives of the Society of Jesus Alaska mission collection.
Guide to the microfilm edition of the Oregon Province archives of the Society of Jesus Alaska mission collection
Call Number: E78.A3 G84 ALASKA
Guide to the microfilm Alaska Mission collection. Description of extent and nature of records of Catholic (Jesuit) missions and priests in Alaska, including brief biographies of individuals.
The Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus Indian language collection. Alaska Native languages. [microform]
Call Number: 3613 ALASKA MFILM
28 reels of Microfilm which reproduces 27,263 pages of Alaska Native language materials, consisting mostly of manuscripts and some printed material annotated by a Jesuit language expert, arranged into the following language groups: Central Yupik and Inupiaq; Ingalik (Deg Hit'an) and Koyukon. There is a printed index/guide to the materials. Originals were held at Gonzaga University at the time of microfilming. In the spring of 2019, they were moved to the Jesuit Archives & Research Center in St. Louis.
Guide to the microfilm edition of the Oregon Province archives of the Society of Jesus Indian language collection : the Alaska Native languages by Robert C. Carriker, Clifford A. Carroll, W. L. Larsen.
Publication Date: 1976
Guide to the microfilm collection of the Oregon Province archives of the Society of Jesus Indian language collection: the Alaska Native languages.

MANUSCRIPTS IN THE ARCHIVES

Materials related to the Catholic Church in Alaska held in the Archives. Available for viewing by appointment in our Research Room. More information here.

Brother George Feltes, S.J., Papers. 1929- circa 1970s
The Brother George Feltes Collection consists of over 300 photocopies of photographs as well as photograph identification sheets, photocopies of Brother Feltes' pilot and aircraft mechanic licenses, a photocopied narrative of early flying experiences by Brother Feltes, photocopied newsclippings, photocopied newsletters from the Copper Valley School, and a booklet describing the Packard Diesel Aircraft Engine.
Catholic Church in Alaska Collection
Dr. Louis J Renner's preliminary unpublished bibliography of the Roman Catholic Church in Alaska was compiled in 1977 and is comprehensive rather than critical. It contains almost 3,000 entries, and a subject index refers to page and card numbers.
Dr. William Loyens Photograph
Undated photograph shows two Catholic nuns along with a group of Native women; there are identifications on the back.
Fairbanks, Alaska, Break-up Photographs. circa 1927
7 black-and-white photographs and one real-photo postcard of Fairbanks, Alaska, during break-up. Most of the photographs are identified as being taken on Chena Slough in 1927. Included are views of buildings from across the river, such as the Catholic Church, St. Joseph's Hospital and Samson's Hardware.
Jette, Fr. Julius Letter. February 18, 1926
The collection contains one letter from Fr. Julius Jette to Mr. Ralph P. Mackie, at McKinley Park. It is labeled: Phonetics, Roots and Component Parts of the Tanana Indian Language.
Little Flower Mission Log (Hooper Bay). 1959-1972
Photocopy of the mission log for July 1959-January 1972. The log is a daily listing of events for the mission and includes descriptions of ceremonies, meetings, visitors, and weather. The descriptions are generally brief and limited to number and time of day of occurrence. Names of individuals, other than church personnel, are generally not listed.
Madeleine Betz Copper Valley School Collection. 1960-2000
Madeleine D. Betz came to Alaska in October 1961 from Rhode Island to serve as school nurse at Copper Valley School near Glennallen. She long served as secretary of the Copper Valley School Association (the school's alumni organization) and edited the association's newsletter, "The Scuttlebutt." Copper Valley School, a Catholic college-prep boarding school, was located on a 460-acre federal land grant near the juncture of the Tazlina and Copper Rivers, about 10 miles southeast of Glennallen, Alaska. It closed in 1972.
St. Mary's Mission Annals. 1925-1970
This collection consists of photocopies of the original, handwritten annals kept by Ursuline nuns at St. Mary's Mission, a mission established in Akulurak, Alaska, by the Roman Catholic Church in 1905. The mission was relocated to Andreafsky, Alaska, in 1951. The annals contain a record of the everyday activities and happenings at the mission and in the surrounding area. Also included is a brief diary of the Reverend Mother Laurentia Walsh's trip to the United States in 1935.

ORAL HISTORIES

A selection of materials related to the Catholic Church in Alaska from the Oral History Collection. More information about our Oral History Collection here.

Nome hearings of the Alaska Native Review Commission, October 1-2, 1984 [sound recording] by Alaska Native Review Commission.
Thomas R. Berger conducts hearings of the Alaska Native Review Commission to review the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971, held in Nome on October 1, 1984. Interviewees include Father Carlin.
Angeline Derendoff is interviewed by Wendy Arundale on July 23, 1992 [sound recording].
Angeline Derendoff talks about her personal history, her mother, Celia Happy, her struggle to get an education, early experiences with missionaries, and her marriage.
Jesuit missions in Alaska collection [sound recording]. by Arundale, Wendy Hanford, 1945-
7 interviews (46 tapes). Interviews by researcher Wendy Arundale with Brother George Feltes, Brother Francis Fox, Brother Edmund Anable, Sister Ida Brasseur, Brother George Carroll, Sister M. George Edmund, and Sister Margaret Cantwell about the Catholic Church in Alaska, particularly aspects related to the Jesuit Missions. Also contains one tape of Arundale’s notes concerning photos that may be deposited with the Jesuits Missions of Alaska Collection. Some restrictions.
Father Loyens is interviewed by Patty Kastelic on April 28, 1984 in Fairbanks, Alaska. by Loyens, William John, 1926-2004, interviewee.
Father William Loyens talks about the history of the Papacy, coming to Alaska, starting a school in Holy Cross, teaching at the University of Alaska, and teaching adult education in Fairbanks.
Title: Father William Loyens is interviewed by Margaret Van Cleve on March 14, 1991 . Father William Loyens is interviewed by Margaret Van Cleve on March 14, 1991 [sound recording]. by Loyens, William John, 1926-2004.
Father William Loyens talks about his personal history, Holy Cross, education at Holy Cross, Monroe High School, University of Alaska Fairbanks, Alaskan history of the Jesuits, anthropology, evolution, en-culture, villages, Doyon Corporation, culture loss, health, alcohol, drugs, suicide, accidents, Nulato, Kaltag, field work, Father Jette, Koyukon Athapascan, and Saint Mary's.
Martin Ott is interviewed by Margaret Van Cleve on March 16, 1994 in Fairbanks, Alaska [sound recording]. by Ott, Martin H., 1918-
Martin Ott is interviewed by Margaret Van Cleve on March 16, 1994 in Fairbanks, Alaska. Born in Rampart, Ott spent his early years there while his father mined. From 1925-1936 he lived with his two brothers at Holy Cross Mission, and recounts life there and stories of the Jesuits. Ott mined throughout his life, though he worked on the riverboat Nenana, and operated heavy equipment at Ladd Field during WWII. He became interested in politics, and was a long-time friend of Joe Vogler and helped organize the Alaskan Independence Party.
Father Louis Renner is interviewed by Margaret Van Cleve on April 17, 1991 . Father Louis Renner is interviewed by Margaret Van Cleve on April 17, 1991 [sound recording]. by Renner, Louis L., 1926-
Father Louis Renner talks about Jesuits in Alaska, Father George Boileau, Father Jim Poole, KNOM, Nome, King Island, Father Bellamine LaFortune, skin boats, eggs as food, statue on King Island, Father Tom Cunningham, Fairbanks, Monroe High School, being the chaplain at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, his education, his professional history, the Alaskan Shepherd, Alaska Journal, archival research, Sisters of SaintAnne, Father Healy, Father Pascal Tozi, Father Rebeaux, internationalism in missions, native languages, Father Jette, Hudson Stuck, and missionaries and the stick dance.
Madeline Solomon is interviewed by students of the Alaska Native Studies 401 class at the University of Alaska Fairbanks during the Fall semester of 1986 [sound recording]. by Solomon, Madeline, 1905-
Madeline Solomon discusses her personal history, education at the mission, religious beliefs of the mission, language loss, child rearing, seasonal rounds and fish camp.
Vivian Peter is interviewed by Poldine Carlo on April 7, 1973 in Nulato, Alaska [sound recording] by Peter, Vivian.
2 tapes. Interview by Poldine Carlo in Koyukon, including a story about Catholic Missions.

PERIODICALS AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES

A selection of materials related to the Catholic Church in Alaska from the Alaskana Collection. Searching the Library Catalog may reveal additional relevant materials.

A Bibliography of the Catholic Church in Alaska by Louis L. Renner, S.J.
Call Number: BX1415.A4 R4 ALASKA OVRSZ
Publication Date: 1977
Compiled by Louis L. Renner, S.J., this comprehensive bibliography contains nearly 3,000 entries and a subject index. Refers primarily to sources located in the Oregon Province of the Society of Jesus Archives held by Gonzaga University, Spokane, WA. Photocopy.
The Alaskan shepherd. by Diocese of Northern Alaska
Call Number: BX1417.N6 A4 ALASKA PER
Newsletter to friends and benefactors of the developing church in Alaska.
Nutarak pitserkak : a bi-weekly bulletin of information for and by the lay-deacon candidates of Western Alaska.
Call Number: BX1920.C38 ALASKA PER
Published in Bethel, Alaska. Incomplete issues from 1970 to 1973.

Research Tools: The Catholic Church In Alaska

Contact the Alaska and Polar Regions Collections & Archives (APRCA)

The Catholic Church In Alaska

Selected Research Resources related to the Catholic Church in Alaska