Guides: Research Tools: Serum Run Test Page

About this Guide

**** something about how to use this guide and who to contact if help is needed accessing resources ***

Serum Run Resources

A selection of Collections in the Archives which contain materials relating to, describing, accounting or remembering the 1925 Serum Run to Nome. This is not a complete accounting of all possible results.

Materials exist which are not included here which reference Governor Scott Cardelle Bone, who was Governor of Alaska during the events of the 1925 Serum Run. Photographs also exist of many of the Mushers and individuals who were essential components of the Serum Run, but to the best of our knowledge, none of these photographs depict the actual events of the Serum Run and so were not included in this research guide.

There is a large collection of Manuscript Maps which may be relevant. Contact the archives for more information.

Drane Family Papers. 1911-1966
8 cu. ft. The Drane collection consists of photographs (five albums, nine photocopies of albums, and loose photographs) which give a detailed description of his travels to mission stations in Interior Alaska. Also included are a chronicle by the Reverend Albert Tritt of Arctic Village and Drane's autobiography, entitled "A Circuit Rider on the Yukon" and a diary with photographs by Drane's daughter, Rebecca. Photo Album #6 contains mention of Reverend Frederick Blount Drane coming across Johnny Folger during the Serum Run, as does some correspondence.
Lomen Family Papers. 1850-1969
32 cu ft. The collection contains extensive material relating to the reindeer industry, correspondence with public figures, Gudbrand Lomen's court and legal records, Alfred and Ralph Lomen's political papers, the personal papers of individual members of the Lomen family, a large collection of still photographs. Box 43 contains curated clippings related to the Serum Run. They also have photographs of Leonhard Seppala, and possibly others. Ralph Lomen produced some of the first photographs of the Serum Run for publication.
Memoirs and Reminiscences Collection. ca. 1900-present
1.3 cu ft. This collection was created by the Archives to house unpublished manuscripts, letters, and other documents that contain reminiscences of time spent in Alaska, written later in the author's life rather than at the time of the events described. Folder 38 contains certificates and a medal honoring Evans' part in the diphtheria run to Nome in January -February, 1925. There is an amateur radio station license, a card for an Alaska aircraft warning observation post, a certificate of participation in the planning and recordation of the history of the Iditarod National Historic Trail.
Metcalfe, June Northwest Alaska Collection. 1905-1989
1.15 cu ft. The June Metcalfe Northwest Alaska Collection consists of photographs, clippings, typed transcriptions of diaries and interviews, a small number of local publications, a few original manuscript items, and Metcalfe's research notes, all dealing primarily with Nome, Unalakleet, and other locations in northwestern Alaska. Included are several folders of biographical material on Curtis and Lula Welsh, as well as clippings and articles regarding the Diphtheria epidemic.
Seppala, Leonhard Papers. 1915-1968
5.5 linear ft. Leonard Seppala (1878-1967) was born in Norway and came to Alaska as a young man. He became famous as a sled dog racer and freighter, and he is best remembered for his participation in the race to deliver diphtheria serum to residents of Nome in 1925. This collection contains nine scrapbooks of newspaper clippings, photographs, and correspondence.
Sutherland, Daniel A. Papers. 1907-1932
6.35 cu ft. The Daniel A. Sutherland Papers consist primarily of correspondence and newspaper clippings dealing with political problems and popular issues in Alaska in the 1910s through 1931 and documenting Sutherland's political career. The serum run is mentioned in correspondences, where there is a folder dedicated to responses to his radio address of the event.
Thompson, W. F. Family Collection. 1920-1984
1 Box, 0.25 cu ft. The W. F. Thompson Family Collection consists of a small number of family photographs and photocopies of newspaper articles. W.F. Thompson was the editor of the “Fairbanks Daily News-Miner,” and was an outspoken advocate of using planes to accomplish the 1925 serum run.
Waugaman, Candace #2001-071
1 folder. The Candace Waugaman Collection consists of historical manuscripts, photographs, memorabilia, and ephemera donated by private collector and local historian Candace Waugaman. The collection focuses upon the history of Alaska and the Yukon Territory, with particular emphasis upon the Fairbanks, Alaska, region. This addition to the collection is a 1974 copy of the magazine True West containing an article about Public Health Nurse Emily Morgan titled "Angel of the Yukon". She tells the story of her experiences as a nurse in Nome, Alaska, during the diphtheria epidemic of 1925. Her account vividly portrays her visits to the homes of patients and the mounting fear as the illness spread while the community awaited the arrival of antitoxin that was on its way via dogsled from Nenana.
Wilson, William Henry Collection. 1914-1977
3.2 cu ft. The William Henry Wilson Collection contains materials relating to Wilson's book, Railroad in the Clouds (1977), about the Alaska Railroad in the age of steam (1914-1945): galley proofs, research notes, photocopied research material, and copies of photographs from various sources. Included are some of his research files relating to the 1925 Diphtheria epidemic.
Woofter, C. J. Papers. circa 1920s
0.35 cu ft. Papers of C. J. Woofter, including copies of Territory of Alaska legislation, copies of U.S. Land Office patent records, miscellaneous legal records, materials relating to the Nome serum run and Leonhard Seppala, and other materials related to the work of C. J. Woofter. The folder "Seppala Materials" includes his correspondence with News outlets regarding the events of the Serum Run, during which he was a Telegraph operator in Nome.

More films exist where Leonhard Seppala or other mushers, like Edgar Kalland and Charlie Evans, appear, albeit not in the context of the Serum Run. You can search here for all Film Catalog listings, or here for digitized Films.

Serum Race to Nome
Larry Beck tells the story of the 1925 diphtheria run to Nome.
[George Meegan in Barrow]
Notes on original MiniDV videotape are, "Longest Walk Barrow - George Meegan - 1/23/2001 - (inside tent) - Evening at school." Scenes from the celebration on the day that author and British adventurer George Meegan completed his walk from the Arctic Circle to Barrow, Alaska. Col. Norman D. Vaughan speaks before an audience in Barrow about the 1925 Nome serum run, and is presented with a certificate from the City of Barrow. He then briefly talks about his involvement with Admiral Byrd's first expedition to the South Pole and the years afterward. George Meegan talks about living one's dreams and thanks Col. Vaughan. Meegan talks about the arrival of the new century, and actions that have taken place against Indigenous peoples throughout the course of U.S. history. A man speaks about communication and sings a Japanese song that is translated to English by another man. A woman speaks about pride and respect of cultures and then sings.
[Seppala family film]
109 minutes. Part 1 (AAF-2239) Summary: Images include Leonhard with dog team, Olympic activities at Lake Placid during 1932, Leonhard with dogs at Maine, Nome street scenes and lighter, small rail cars on Seward Peninsula Kougarok Railroad,gold drdge and mining operations near Nome, passengers on the tug Dayton, aerial view of Nome, Sigrid and Mrs. Seppala at Skagway and on ship, ship travel in Southeast, tour bus at Skagway, Gorst Air Transport Loening Air Yacht seaplane on beach,scenery from train, mining camp scenes, Davidson Ditch siphon, gold dredge operation, Caterpillar tractor, Davidson Ditch crew building dam at washout, Scenery along Richardson Highway, lone gold miner (Harry Lind?) with rocker box near Nome, Davidson Ditch Dam on Chatanika River, Davidson Ditch crew repairing washout, Davidson Ditch dam and siphon in valley, hydraulic giants, men driving thaw points, gold dredge, man samples dredge diggings, internal dredge operations, King Islanders arriving at Nome in umiaks, 4th of July Native games in Nome, kayak races, man demonstrates Eskimo roll in Kayak, Leonhard mushing and making ice cream with Eskimo girls, pupmobile on Kougarok railroad, sled dogs pulling wagon and small rail cars at Nome. Additional scenes includes Paramount News Reel of Leonhard Seppala mushing dogs in New York during diphtheria serum drive and contestants in the Ottawa International Dog Derby during 1930. Part 2 (AAF-2240) Summary: Images include Leonhard Seppala mushing dogs outside of Alaska, log dam repairing washout on Davidson Ditch, slow-motion of Leonhard mushing in Ottawa Dog Derby during 1930, and Fairbanks Winter Carnival dog races on Chena River. Additional images include Seppala cabin and Leonhard mushing dogs at Chatanika, small car ferry, sternwheeler Casca travelling on Yukon, Seppala cabin with flowers during summer and Leonhard and Constance with puppies and dogs, Seppala cabin at Chatanika during fall, Leonhard working on Davidson Ditch, sternwheeler travel, road travel, small car ferry, Leonhard in Dawson City, Fairbanks Winter Carnival, Leonhard mushing dogs and with dogs in dogyard, flowers, Nome streets, lightering people to ship at Nome, Wien Detroiter airplane at Nome, reindeer herd, hides hanging by cabin, and people along streets in Fairbanks during winter carnival.
View the Seppala family film part 1
View the Seppala family film part 2

This list does not include recordings which discussed Mushers from the Serum Run, which did not overtly discuss their role or the Serum Run in some way. Refer to, for instance: Evans, Charlie, Ivanoff, Henry, Seppala, Leonhard, or others who can be found as subjects in the Library Catalog.

Aloysius Demoski is interviewed by Poldine Carlo on April 2, 1973 in Galena, Alaska
33 minutes. This tape is mostly in Koyukon Athapascan with a brief introduction in English by interviewer Poldine Carlo. Serum to Nome and Sled Dogs are discussed.
Bill McCarty is interviewed by an unidentified interviewer in Ruby, Alaska in July, 1978.
60 minutes. Bill McCarty talks about his parents, Eva and Bill McCarty, Sr., witnessing the Iditarod stampede as a child, their roadhouses near Kaltag, carrying mail by dogsled from Kaltag to Iditarod, living in Nulato, the steamboats on the Yukon River, traveling from Unalakleet to Nome on a sailboat, working as a reindeer herder apprentice, living in Kokrines, people leaving to live in Galena, potlatches, stick dances, his family, herding reindeer for Cap William, working at Fort Gibbon, the telegraph stations along the Yukon River, using sled dogs for transportation, carrying the mail by dogsled from Ruby to above the Kokrines, trapping for 22 years, selling his furs outside of Alaska, fluctuation in fur prices, stopping trapping when he went blind, prices for fish, what Ruby was like in earlier days, Fourth of July in Ruby, and his children's education.
Billy McCarty is interviewed by Tom Beck in Ruby, Alaska on September 13, 1980
60 minutes. Billy McCarty, Sr. talks about his family background, the two roadhouses that his father ran in the Kaltag area (Slough Roadhouse and Six Mile Roadhouse), carrying mail by dogsled, reindeer herding, and running the Ruby to Whiskey Creek segment of the 1925 Nome Serum Run.
Edgar Kalland is interviewed by Tom Beck in Kaltag, Alaska on September 15, 1980
120 minutes. On H83-16-20, Edgar Kalland talks about working for the NC company, taking the auditor around to various stores, working as a deckhand on steamboats, raising sled dogs, choosing leaders, and his family background. On H83-16-21, Edgar talks about places along the Iditarod National Historical trail, smoking, his father's death, chores when he was a kid, and kids today. Edgar participated in the 1925 Nome Serum Run. He ran the segment between Talavana and Manley Hot Springs.
Edgar Nollner is interviewed by Tom Beck in Galena, Alaska on September 12, 1980
60 minutes. Edgar Paul "Paddy" Nollner talks about his family background, his participation in the 1925 Nome Serum Run in which he ran two legs (Whiskey Creek to Galena and Galena to Bishop Mountain), weather for serum runs, serum package, John Evans, Charlie Evans, Leonard Seppala, Antosky's Roadhouse, Dalquist Roadhouse, Evan's Roadhouse, mail cabin at Bishop's Mountain, and mail service by dog team
Edgar Nollner speaks in an edited radio broadcast on KIYU-AM, from an interview conducted by Orville Hungtington and recorded by Jessie Dementiev in Galena, Alaska in June 1996
80 minutes. Edgar Nollner speaks in an edited radio broadcast on KIYU-AM, from an interview conducted by Orville Hungtington and recorded by Jessie Dementiev in Galena, Alaska in June 1996. Nollner describes mushing dogs, the obedience of his dogs, and using dogsled to go moose hunting.
Effie Kokrine is interviewed by Sue Will, Bill Schneider, and Doris Southall in Fairbanks, Alaska on February 10, 1987
90 minutes. Effie Kokrine talks about her first experiences with dogs, Tonnish the dog, using a loose leader, the job of the wheel dog, selecting pups, feeding sled dogs, going to Flat for spring camp, Katherine Mayo, participating in the North American Races, Libby Wescott, training sled dogs, Whitey the sled dog, making sleds and towlines, using dog booties, her family's involvement with junior dog mushing, Jeff Studdert, her father running part of the serum run to Nome, her father, Johnny Folger, dogs towing boats in the summer, being raised in the Tanana area, Yukon River, dogsled mail trips from Tanana to Wiseman made by her husband, Andrew Kokrine, Tony Kokrine, using gee poles and Ouija boards, controlling a heavy sled going downhill, where they kept their dogs when they first came to Fairbanks, George Jimmie, naming dogs, and training lead dogs.
John Aulaye is interviewed by Charlie Blatchford and Robert Spude in Anchorage, Alaska on October 21, 1981
60 minutes. John Aulaye recounts his part in the 1925 Nome Serum Run. He ran the segment from Unalakleet to Shaktoolik. John Aulaye contested in the 1980s that he was the actual runner of the portion of the Serum Run typically credited to Henry Ivanoff.
Serum run to Nome, Alaska : 50th anniversary celebration held in Nenana, Alaska in January 27, 1975
70 minutes. Jack Coghill welcomes guests, he talks about the history of the serum run from Nenana to Nome, the dog teams carrying the serum, Mary Demientieff, and Paul George. Mary Demientieff introduces the Native dancers who sing and perfom several selections. Jack Coghill talks about Nenana's history, Jim Duke and his roadhouse, the railroad survey in 1914, President Warren Harding's visit, the dog mushers involved in the serum run, Bill Shannon, dog leaders, Togo and Balto, Leonhard Seppala, Joyce Kanabe, Joe Reddington, Edgar Kalland, Harry Pitka, Bill McCartney, Edgar Nollner, and Charlie Evans.

Books from the Alaskana Catalog at the Rasmuson Library. These include early learning books, as well as historical non-fiction.

Balto, Sled Dog of Alaska by LaVere Anderson; Herman B. Vestal (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ10.3.A492 Bal ALASKA

ISBN: 9780811648592

Publication Date: 1976-01-01

A fictionalized account of the life of Balto, who led the final relay team carrying life-giving diphtheria serum into epidemic-torn Nome in 1925.
The Bravest Dog Ever by Natalie Standiford; Donald Cook (Illustrator)
Call Number: SF428.7.S7 1989 ALASKA

ISBN: 9780394896953

Publication Date: 1989-10-17

Celebrate a winter miracle with the true, inspirational story of Balto in this Step 3 Step Into Reading Early Reader. It is one of the worst storms ever - the snow has not stopped for days and it is 30 degrees below zero. But somehow Balto must get through. He is the lead dog of his sled team. And he is carrying medicine to sick children miles away in Nome, Alaska. He is their only hope. Can Balto find his way through the terrible storm? Find out in this exciting true story! Step 3 Readers feature engaging narratives about popular topics. For children who are ready to read on their own.
The Cruelest Miles by Gay Salisbury; Laney Salisbury
Call Number: RA644.D6 S25 2003 ALASKA

ISBN: 9780393019629

Publication Date: 2003-06-17

In 1925, a deadly diphtheria epidemic swept through icebound Nome, Alaska. The life-saving serum was a thousand miles away, and a blizzard was brewing. Airplanes could not fly in such conditions: only the dogs could do it. Racing against death, twenty dog teams relayed the serum across the Alaskan wilderness as newspapers nationwide headlined the drama, enthralling an entire generation. The heroic dash to Nome inspired the annual Iditarod Dog Sled Race in Alaska and immortalized Balto, the lead dog whose arrival in Nome over a snow-blown trail was an American legend in the making. His bronze statue still stands in New York City's Central Park, in dedication to the "Endurance, Fidelity and Intelligence" of the dogs that saved Nome. This is their story, the greatest dog story never fully told, until now.
The frozen trail : the story of Alaska's Iditarod Historic Trail by Moderow, Hannah
Call Number: SF440.15.M63 2011 ALASKA

Publication Date: 2011

A historic overview of the Iditarod Historic Trail.
Gold Rush Dogs by Claire Rudolf Murphy; Jane G. Haigh
Call Number: SF422.6.A4 M87 2001 ALASKA

ISBN: 9780882405346

Publication Date: 2003-06-01

Dog lovers and history buffs will delight in this collection celebrating the beloved canines that offered companionship, protection, and hard work to their masters in the Far North.
The Great Serum Race by Debbie S. Miller; Jon Van Zyle (Illustrator)
Call Number: SF440.15.M55 2002 ALASKA

ISBN: 9780802788122

Publication Date: 2003-01-01

Ride shotgun with the heroic mushers whose bravery inspired the Iditarod. In the winter of 1925, Nome, Alaska, was hit by an unexpected and deadly outbreak of diphtheria. Officials immediately quarantined the town, but the only cure for the community of more than 1,400 people was antitoxin serum and the nearest supply was in Anchorage--hundreds of miles of snowbound wilderness away. The only way to get it to Nome was by dogsled. Twenty teams braved subzero temperatures and blizzard conditions to run over 600 miles in six days in a desperate relay race that saved the people of Nome. Several of the dogs, including Togo and Balto, became national heroes. Today their efforts, and those of the courageous mushers, are commemorated every March by the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race. Jon Van Zyle's stunning oil paintings capture the brutal conditions, pristine wilderness, and sheer guts and determination demonstrated by the heroic mushers and dogs.
The Incredible Life of Balto by Meghan McCarthy
Call Number: SF428.7.M33 2011 ALASKA

ISBN: 9780375844607

Publication Date: 2011-08-09

Most people know the story of Balto, the world famous dog who led his dogsled team through a blizzard to deliver a lifesaving serum to the stricken people of Nome, Alaska, in 1925. Balto shot to instant stardom-a company named dog food after him, a famous sculptor erected a statue of him that stands in Central Park to this day, and the dog even starred in his own Hollywood movie. But what happened to Balto after the hoopla died down? With a lively, informative text and humorous, vibrant illustrations, Meghan McCarthy captures the extraordinary life of Balto beyond his days as a celebrity.
Race Against Death by Seymour Reit
Call Number: PZ7.R2785 Rac ALASKA

ISBN: 9780396072935

Publication Date: 1976-03-01

In the winter of 1925 a dog sled relay makes a life and death race against time through an Alaskan blizzard with a supply of serum needed to stop a diphtheria epidemic in Nome.
The race to Nome; the story of the heroic Alaskan dog teams that rushed diphtheria serum to stricken Nome in 1925. by Ungermann, Kenneth A. Edited by Walter Lord.
Call Number: PZ10.U5 R2 ALASKA

Publication Date: 1963

Contents include: Cry for help -- Mail trail -- 300,000 units of serum -- Race begins -- along the Yukon -- "Fairbanks is standing by" -- Dr. Welch and Nurse Seville -- On to the Bering Sea -- Togo -- Treacherous ice -- Raging storm -- End of the trail.

"Don't look so sour..."
35 col. in. Photograph. Council 1995, v. 20, no. 2 (Mar. 1995) p. 6. ALASKA PER E99 A86 T37.
50th anniversary commemorative -- Nenana to Nome diphtheria serum run January 27, 1925-January 27, 1975
Alaskan philatelist 1987, v. 23, no. 4 (Whole No. 125) (May 1987) p. 16. ALASKA PER HE6187 A37
60 years ago.
Alaska journal 1985, v. 15, no. 2 (Spring 1985) p. 50. ALASKA PER F901 A342.
60th Anniversary of Diphtheria Serum Run.
Iditarod runner 1984, v. 7, no. 9 (Oct. 1984) pp. 8-9. ALASKA PER SF 440.15 I34.
1925 -- The Nome serum run.
Iditarod runner 1986, v. 9, no. 6 (Mar. 1986) p. 4. ALASKA PER SF440.15 I34.
1925 Serum relay to Nome.
Newton, Virginia, PhD. Alaska history news 1986, v. 17, no. 1 (Feb. 1986) p. 1. ALASKA PER F901 A443
1990's Honorary Mushers.
Kotongan, Judy. Iditarod runner 1990, (June 1990) p. 18. ALASKA PER SF 440.15 I34
Alaska's Forgotten Heroes in the Great Race of 1925.
Kaiser, Henry Samuel, Jr. Alaska native news 1985, V. 3d(MAR. 1985) P. 18. ALASKA PER E78 A3 A423.
Alaskan Children Want Balto back.
Glenn, Donna. Polar times 1998, v. 3, no. 11 (Spring/Summer 1998) p. 11. ALASKA PER G575 P84.
All in a Day's Work: Mushers Recall Serum Run of 1925.
Donohoe, Matthew. Alaska magazine 1980, V. 46 (MARCH 1980) P. 16. ALASKA PER SK1 A35.
Cure That Came in From the Cold.
Orwant, Robin. New Scientist, v. 185, no. 2491 (Mar. 19, 2005) pp. 42-43. PER Q1 N52.
Digging into history of 1925 race.
Miller, Debbie S. Heartland magazine IN: Fairbanks daily news-miner 2003, (March 2, 2003) pp. H-4 - H-5. ALASKA PER MICROFILM 6
Diphtheria and Alaska.
Wilson, Gwynneth Gminder. Alaska medicine 1986, v. 28, no. 1 (Jan./Feb./Mar. 1986) pp. 13-15. ALASKA PER R11 A32.
Dogs Win Out Over Publisher's Plea for Plane.
Cole, Dermot. Heartland magazine IN: Fairbanks daily news-miner 2003, (March 2, 2003) pp. H-2 + H-6. ALASKA PER MICROFILM 6
Edgar Kallands' Serum Run.
Bowers, Peter Michael. Mushing 1989, no. 6 (Dec. 1988-Jan. 1989) p.11-13. ALASKA PER SF440.15 M87
Endurance, fidelity, intelligence.
Salisbury, Gay. Alaska magazine, v. 71, no. 2, (Mar. 2005), pp. 34-39. ALASKA PER SK1 A35
The Faithful and True.
Ulmer, Joseph. Pathfinder 1925, v. 6, no. 8 (June 1925) p. 12. ALASKA PER F901 P2.
Forgotten Musher from Forgotten Dog Race.
Kaiser, Henry Samuel, Jr. Senior voice 1989, v. 12, no. 2 (Feb. 1989) p. 9. ALASKA PER OVERSIZE HQ1064 U6 A4.
From our readers.
Ross, Frances A. Alaska journal 1979, v. 9, no. 4 (Autumn 1979) pp. 94-95.
Ghost of the Iditarod: the 1925 Race Against Death.
Salisbury, Gay. Heartland magazine IN: Fairbanks daily news-miner 2003, (March 2, 2003) pp. H-16 -H-24. ALASKA PER MFILM 6
Grandfather to all Galena.
Rosen, Yereth. Alaska magazine 1990, v. 56, no. 3 (Mar. 1990) p. 18. ALASKA PER SK1 A35
Hero Dog Goes Home to Nome.
Polar times 1983, NO. 96 (JUNE 1983) P. 10. ALASKA PER G575 P84.
Honors Went to Wrong Driver, Dog in Serum Race to Nome.
Hunt, "Bill" William R., Ph.D. We Alaskans IN: Anchorage daily news 1990, (Mar. 4, 1990) p. J14. ALASKA PER MFILM 12.
Iditarod's Origins.
Heartland magazine IN: Fairbanks daily news-miner 1989, (March 12, 1989) p. H14. ALASKA PER MICROFILM 6.
In a century, Sam Joseph made his impact.
All-Alaska weekly 1970, v. 1, no. 10 (September 4, 1970) p. 11. ALASKA PER MFILM 454
John Auliye, Honorary Number One Musher.
Photograph. Iditarod runner 1989, (Mar. 1989) p. 29. ALASKA PER SF440.15 I34.
The Last Great Race.
Alaska earthlines/tidelines 1983, V. 5 (FEB. 1983) P. 2. ALASKA PER GC1000 A4.
Leonhard Seppala.
16 col. in. Photographs. Alaska geographic: Dogs of the north, v. 14, no. 1 (1987) pp. 40-42. ALASKA F901 A266 (V. 14, NO. 1; 1987)
McCarty to Draw no. 1.
Iditarod runner 1982, V. 5 (MAR. 1982) P. 5. ALASKA PER SF440.15 I34.
National Recognition Reaches Athabascan Serum Mushers.
Richardson, Jeffrey R. Senior voice 1986, v. 9, no. 10 (Oct. 1986) p. 12. ALASKA PER HQ1064 U6 A4.
Nenana-to-Nome Skiers in the Slow Lane.
Rozell, Ned. Heartland magazine IN: Fairbanks daily news-miner 2001, (March 11, 2001) p. H-7. ALASKA PER MICROFILM 6
The Nome Serum Run.
Alaska today 1981, V. 9 (MAY 1981-APRIL 1982) P. 40. ALASKA PER F901 A36.
Nome Serum Run Remembered...Forerunner to Iditarod.
Council 1981, (JAN. 1981) P. 12. ALASKA PER E99 A86 T37.
One More Time Across the Ice: Veteran Explorer Retraces a Legendary Journey.
National geographic 2000, v. 298, no. 6 (Dec. 2000) pp. 20-21. PER G1 N27.
Our unsung hero Togo.
Alaska northern lights 1966, v. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1966) p. 13. ALASKA PER F901 A424.
Running Against Death.
Rhodes, Lynwood Mark. Take me away 1981, V. 2 (FEB. 1981) P. 23. ALASKA PER F901 T3
Serum dash to Nome, 1925: the making of Alaskan heroes,
Wilson, William H. Alaska journal 1986, v. 16 (1986) pp. 250-259. ALASKA PER F901 A342
Serum Runner Remembers.
Richardson, Jeffrey R. Senior voice 1986, v. 9, no. 10 (Oct. 1986) p. 1. ALASKA PER HQ1064 U6 A4
Sled dogs: Balto and Togo.
24 col. in. Photograph. Sports Illustrated, v. 103, no. 2 (July 11, 2005) p. 123. PER GV561 S7.
Sled dogs were lifesavers in the serum run.
Rozell, Ned. Heartland magazine IN: Fairbanks daily news-miner 2001, (March 11, 2001) p. H-5. ALASKA PER MFILM 6
This Year Marks the 60th Anniversary of the Nome Diphtheria Serum Run of 1925.
Photograph. Alaska magazine 1985, V. 51 (SEPT. 1985) P. 36. ALASKA PER SK1 A35
Unalakleet -- John Auliye, 84, of Unalakleet Claimed in Februrary That He was One of the Original Mushers Taking Part in the Race to Get Diphtheria Serum to Nome.
Alaska magazine 1985, V. 51 (JUNE 1985) P. A27. ALASKA PER SK1 A35
What the Alaska Yukon Pioneers Think of the Nenana to Nome Mushers.
Pathfinder 1925, v. 6, no. 8 (June 1925) p. 13. ALASKA PER F901 P2.
When Nome Needed Serum.
Seppala, Leonhard. Alaska magazine 1996, v. 61, no. 10 (Dec. 1995-Jan. 1996) pp. 40-44. ALASKA PER SK 1 A35

Newspapers

Nearly all newspapers nationwide reported on the events, especially major news outlets like the New York Times. Both Gunnar Kaasen and Leonhard Seppala had newspaper reporting deals after the event, and so gave extensive interviews to journalists. Particularly effusive newspaper sources of the Northwest include:

Nome Nugget
Fairbanks Daily News Miner
The Alaska Daily Empire
Seward Daily Gateway
The Wrangell Sentinel
Seattle Star Evening Star
The Washington Times

Research Tools: Serum Run Test Page

Contact the Alaska and Polar Regions Collections & Archives (APRCA)

About this Guide

Serum Run Resources

Newspapers