Guides: Research Tools: Alaska Political Collections

Alaska Political Collections

Alaska was purchased from Russia by the United States in 1867. Alaska was governed by the military without a formal status until 1884, when it began being administered as a district. This change in status created the position of Governor of Alaska, appointed by the United States president. Alaska was officially incorporated as an organized territory in 1912 and a Territorial Legislature was formed. In 1959, Alaska became a state. Because of the relatively recently statehood, many Alaskan political figures held both Territorial and post-Statehood positions. In those cases, the individual's papers have been organized with post-statehood positions having priority.

For information about statehood, please see our guide about Alaska statehood.

Additional public policy materials may be found in collections related to a variety of policy issues including statehood; conservation/environment; natural resource development (oil, mining, logging, fishing, etc.); Alaska Native corporations, land claims, and related issues; education; transportation; rural development; and subsistence. Depending upon your research topic, searching on these key words or checking other Guides to Collections may provide additional sources.

Note: All of our research guides are currently being updated and do not reflect the entire scope of our collections.

Selected Archival Collections Related to Alaska Politics

Because of Alaska's relatively recent statehood (1959), many of these congressmen served in various Territorial roles as well.

These papers are available by appointment in our Research Room. More information here. Many of these collections contain film materials and those can be accessed by contacting the Film Archives.

Bartlett, Edward Lewis "Bob" Papers 1924-1970
306 cu. ft. Edward Lewis "Bob" Bartlett was born in Seattle. He graduated from Fairbanks High School. Bartlett worked as a reporter and miner, before moving into a variety of government roles. From 1939-1944, he served as Secretary of Alaska. In 1944, he was elected as Alaska's non-voting delegate to Congress where he served until statehood in 1959. In 1959, he was elected as Alaska's first U.S. Senator. He served until his death in office in 1968. The collection focuses on Bartlett's political career. There is a detailed finding aid available.
Begich, Nick (Nicholas Joseph) Papers 1960-1973
106. cu. ft. Nick (Nicholas Joseph) Begich (1932-1972) was born and raised in Minnesota. He was elected to two terms in the Alaska State Senate (1963-1971). In 1970 he won election as a Democrat to the U.S. House of Representatives and began his service as Alaska's congressman on 3 January 1971. He disappeared while on a campaign flight from Anchorage to Juneau, Alaska, 16 October 1972. The collections contains notes, correspondence, press releases, clippings, daily schedule books, and reference files related primarily to Begich's term in the U. S. House of Representatives as Democratic congressman for Alaska, 1971-1972.
Gravel, Maurice Robert "Mike" Papers 1957-1980
402 cu. ft. Maurice Robert "Mike" Gravel served two terms, from 1969 to 1980, as a United States Senator from Alaska. The Mike Gravel Papers consist mainly of the records of Gravel's years in the United States Senate (1969-1980). The collection also includes a small amount of material pertaining to Gravel's political involvement in Alaska from 1957 to 1967. The papers reflect Gravel's involvement in both Alaskan issues (particularly land issues, including the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act) and international issues (the Vietnam War, Pentagon Papers, the Panama Canal controversy). Gravel died in 2021.
Gruening, Ernest Papers, 1914-1974
315 cu. ft. Ernest H. Gruening was born in New York City on February 6, 1887. Gruening's political career included directorship of the Division of Territories and Island Possessions of the Department of the Interior from 1934-1939; he was administrator of the Puerto Rico Reconstruction Administration from 1935-1937, member of the Alaska International Highway Commission from 1938-1842, and was appointed Territorial Governor of Alaska in 1939 and reappointed twice, serving until 1953. Gruening was known as "the father of Alaska statehood." He was elected as a Democrat to the United States Senate in 1958 and served until 1969. While a Senator, Gruening supported civil rights legislation, government funding for distribution of birth control information, and economic foreign aid. He was opposed to foreign military aid and to the war in Vietnam. The bulk of the collection relates to Gruening's years as a United States Senator from Alaska.
Pollock, Howard W. Papers 1967-1971
39 cu. ft. Howard W. Pollock (1920-2011) was a member of the Alaska Territorial House of Representatives (1953-55), the Alaska State Senate (1961-63, 1965-66), and the U.S. House of Representatives (1967-71). Pollock is the only Alaskan to have served in the Alaska Territorial and State legislatures and the U.S. Congress. The Howard W. Pollock Papers contains Pollock's congressional papers created during his two terms in the U. S. House of Representatives. The documents include files from two congressional committees, the House Interior and Insular Affairs Committee and the Merchant Marine and Fisheries Committee.
Rivers, Ralph J. Papers 1955-1966
90 cu. ft. Ralph Julian Rivers (1903-1976) was Alaska's first U. S. Representative to Congress. He also served as an Alaska Territorial Senator, Second Vice-President of the Alaska Constitutional Convention, and U. S. Representative-elect under the Alaska-Tennessee Plan. The bulk of the materials in the Ralph J. Rivers Papers relate to Rivers' eight year tenure as Alaska's first United States Representative in Congress from the new state of Alaska. See Also: Victor C. Rivers Family Collection on Microfiche.

State government collections include members of the state legislature, governors, and mayors.

These papers are available by appointment in our Research Room. More information here. Many of these collections contain film materials and those can be accessed by contacting the Film Archives.

Bennett, Don Papers. 1982-1987
24 cu. ft. Don Bennett (1931-1987) served in the Alaska House of Representatives from 1977 to 1979. Bennett then served in the Alaska Senate from 1979 until his death in 1987. The papers contain correspondence and subject files kept by Don Bennett during his last four years as an Alaskan State Senator. Also included are some personal papers including resumes, visa applications, and campaign materials from his run for Lieutenant Governor.
Brice, Tom Papers. 1992-1998
20 cu. ft. Tom Brice (1965- ) was born in Fairbanks, Alaska and was elected as a representative to the Alaska Legislature in 1991, Brice went on to serve four terms. This collection contains the correspondence and legislative files kept by Tom Brice during his first three terms as a Representative in the Alaska Legislature. Materials include issue mail from his constituents as well as memoranda, notes, working drafts, reports, and subject files generated from his work in the Eighteenth, Nineteenth, and Twentieth Legislatures.
Carpenter, Larry Papers. 1967-1985
43 cu. ft. Larry Carpenter (1933-1993) was a businessman, reporter and legislator in the House from 1976 to 1978. In 1978, Carpenter founded the Interior Energy Corporation for which he served as CEO. This collection focuses on the construction of the Trans-Alaskan pipeline, much of it was generated from his work as Alyeska's Community Relations representative during the years of construction from 1974-1976. The collection also includes Carpenter's correspondence and legislative files from his tenure in the Alaska Legislature from 1976-1978.
Egan, William A. Papers 1940-1984.
24 cu. ft. William A. Egan (1914-1984) served in the Alaska Territorial Legislature. He was a delegate and president of the Alaska Constitutional Convention, which convened in November of 1955. Egan was elected as one of Alaska's Tennessee Plan senators in 1956 and lobbied for for Alaska statehood until the passage of the Alaska Statehood Act, June 30, 1958. He was elected governor of Alaska in 1958 and reelected in 1962. He was defeated for governor by Walter Hickel in 1966, but elected for the third time in 1970.
Fahrenkamp, Bettye Papers. 1940-1991
4 cu. ft. Bettye Fahrenkamp served as the first woman chair of the Fairbanks Democratic District Committee from 1968-1972, as Alaska's Democratic National Committeewoman from 1972-79, and on the staff of U.S. Senator Mike Gravel from 1975-78. In 1978, she was elected to the State Senate and served four terms before her death in 1991. The Bettye Fahrenkamp Papers contain legislative scrapbooks in which she compiled bill information, her voting record, and samples from her constituent correspondence for each legislative session between 1981-1985. The collection also contains photographs from her personal and political life as well as personal papers including a high school yearbook, campaign materials, family correspondence, and a copy of the program to her memorial service in 1991.
Faiks, Jan Papers. 1978-1989
15 cu. ft. Jan Faiks arrived in Anchorage in 1968. In 1983, she was elected to the Alaska State Senate where she served for three terms, eventually becoming the first woman to ever hold the position of President of a state senate in 1987. This collection consists of Jan Faiks' legislative files and reports generated from her three terms as an Alaskan state senator.
Koponen, Niilo Papers. 1952-1992
75 cu ft. Niilo Emil Koponen (1928-2013) was an American educator and politician. In 1982, Koponen was elected to the State House of Representatives where he served for five terms. The papers of Niilo Koponen consist of the subject files he kept during his time as a representative in the Alaska Legislature. Although there are periodic correspondence and notes from Koponen, the bulk of the collection is composed of background reading he consulted in his work on legislation. In these materials, researchers can find the important issues weighing on Alaskans and their legislators during the decade spanning 1982-1992.
Moyer, Tom Papers. 1972-1993
4.2 cu. ft. The Tom Moyer Papers contain correspondence, reports, subject files, press releases, and legislative citations from his time as an Alaska state representative, elected in 1990, and as chair of the House Special Committee on International Trade and Tourism. Moyer's materials also include his voting record, talking points, newsletter, photographs, and newsclippings pertaining to his campaign and legislative work. There is also a report to Rep. Mike Davis regarding state land leasing for wind power generation facilities. There are also materials relating to Moyer's efforts to pass House Bill 46 which led to the creation of the Alaska Aerospace Development Corporation.
Parr, Charles H. "Charlie" Papers. 1970-1982
29 cu. ft. The Charles H. "Charlie" Parr Papers contain records which reflect Parr's service as a faculty member of the University of Alaska, as an assemblyman for the Fairbanks North Star Borough, and as an Alaska State legislator. Series I includes notes, correspondence, and minutes from Parr's involvement with the Fairbanks chapter of the American Association of University Professors. His activities with the Fairbanks North Star Borough Assembly are reflected in the notes, correspondence, reports, and proposals found in Series II. Although his papers from the Ninth Legislature are not present, Series III and IV represent the correspondence, memoranda, notes, working drafts, speeches, articles, and subject files generated from Parr's work in the Tenth, Eleventh, and Twelfth Legislatures.
Pearson, Grant H. Papers. 1958-1960
.25 cu ft. Grant Harold Pearson (1900-1978), a native of Minnesota, arrived in Alaska in 1925. He represented McKinley Park (1959-61) and Nenana (1961-65) in the State House of Representatives, and served in the State Senate from 1965 to 1967. The Grant H. Pearson Papers contain a small folder of correspondence dating from 1950-1960 when Pearson served in the Alaska State Legislature as the Representative for the 18th District.

Dimond, Anthony Joseph Papers 1904-1953
19. cu. ft. Dimond served as a member of the Alaska Territorial Senate from 1923-1926 and from 1929-1932. In 1933, Dimond was elected as Territorial Delegate to the U.S. Congress and served for six terms. He was confirmed in 1945 as U.S. District Judge for the 3rd Judicial Division of Alaska and, in 1949, served as a member of the Alaska Statehood Committee. Dimond died on May 28th, 1953. Collection contains legislative, political and personal files relating to his work and activities from 1904 in Valdez until his death in 1953 in Anchorage. The largest bulk of material in the papers relate directly to his office as the Territorial Delegate to Congress from Alaska for six terms, 1933-45.
Jones, Charles D. Papers. ca.1895-1958
3 cu. ft. Charles Davenport Jones (1875-1963) moved to Nome from Chicago in 1900. He was a longshoreman, miner, foreman with the Alaska Road Commission and U. S. Marshal in the Nome area from 1925-1933 (appointed by Judge G. J. Lomen). He was involved with U.S. Army construction work from 1942-1945. In 1946, he was elected to the Territorial Legislature. Later, he served in the State Legislature.
Kay, Wendell Papers. 1955-1965
Scrapbook. Wendell Palmer Kay (1913-1986) was a member of the Alaska Territorial House of Representatives from 1951 to 1956, representing 3rd district, and the Speaker of this body during his last term (1955-1956). As the Democratic nominee, he was defeated by appointed incumbent Ted Stevens in the 1970 special election for the U. S. Senate. The Wendell Kay Papers consist of a photocopy of a clipping scrapbook concerning the legal and political career of Alaskan legislator Wendell Palmer Kay, Jr.
Strong, J. F. A. and Anna Hall Strong Papers. 1885-1947
6 cu. ft. John Franklin Alexander Strong (1856-1929), a newspaper publisher and journalist who came to Alaska in 1897, served a term as Governor of the Territory of Alaska from 1913 to 1918. Much of J. F. A. Strong's correspondence relates to his term as Territorial governor of Alaska (1913-1918), but the collection also includes a few business records from his earlier years as a newspaper publisher in Nome and some of his writings on Alaskan topics both during and after his term in office. Anna Hall Strong's correspondence is also included and is more personal.
Sutherland, Daniel Alexander Papers
7 cu. ft. Daniel Alexander Sutherland (1869-1955) was a senator in the Territorial Legislature and served in that capacity from 1912 through 1920. He was elected as territorial delegate to the U.S. Congress, in which he served from 1921 through 1931. The papers consist primarily of correspondence and newspaper clippings dealing with political problems and popular issues in Alaska in the 1910s through 1931 and documenting Sutherland's political career. The collection also includes the texts of various speeches by Sutherland, lists of Alaska-related legislative bills passed by Congress while Sutherland was a delegate, a small number of legal papers concerning Sutherland's political difficulties and financial interests, and a group of photographs.
Waskey, Frank Hinman Papers 191-1954
1 cu. ft. Frank Hinman Waskey (1875-1964) was Alaska's first territorial delegate to Congress (1906-1907), President of the Nome Bank and Trust Company, and proprietor of the trading post at Dillingham (1930-1956). He died in 1964. The majority of the papers do not relate his political career, but contain photocopies of dairies, some reprints of articles on Alaska topics. The diaries include accounts of Waskey's travels in Alaska. Much of Waskey's writings concern his interest in Alaska Native culture, languages, and people. They include his accounts of digging in the middens of old villages for artifacts and accounts of Waskey's search for markets for Alaskan products and materials.
Woofter, C. J. Papers. circa 1920s
.35 cu. ft. Papers of C. J. Woofter, including copies of Territory of Alaska legislation, copies of U.S. Land Office patent records, miscellaneous legal records, materials relating to the Nome serum run and Leonhard Seppala, and other materials related to the work of C. J. Woofter.

City of Fairbanks Historical Records. 1903 - 1990
33 cu. ft. The Historical Records of the City of Fairbanks include Engineering Records, Clay Street Cemetery Records, Birth and Death Records, Town Council Meeting Minutes (1903 - 1990), Tax Rolls and Ledgers, records from the Fairbanks Development Authority, maps and surveys, photographs, studies for historic building renovations, and an election roll from 1909.
Delta Junction City Council Meeting Minutes. 1960-1985
Microfiche. 12 volumes of Delta Junction City Council Meeting minutes.
Eagle, Alaska, City of, Historical Records. 1899-1919
.02 cu. ft. Photographic copies of plats, trustee deeds, receipts, and an assessment roll from the city of Eagle, Alaska. The materials include a map of the city of Eagle drawn by Snevely in 1899; a plat of the Eagle townsite and subdivisions, 1909; a plat of the Eagle cemetery, 1919 (U.S. Survey No. 1253); trustee's deeds for the townsite of Eagle (1909) and the Eagle cemetery (1919); and a patent for the townsite of Eagle (1909).
Minto City Council, Minutes of Business Meetings, 1939-1948
.25 cu. ft. The Minto, Alaska, Village Council Records consist of two ledgers: the Council Secretary's Book of Minutes of Business Meetings (1939-1948), and the Purchases and Sales Ledger for Minto Village, Inc. (1943-1945).

Proceedings and resolutions of the City of Sitka, Territory of Alaska [microform], 1867 Dec. 3-1873 Jan. 8.
Call Number: 3851 ALASKA MFILM
1 reel. These proceedings admonished the Council to act so their successors could continue the improvements that have been commenced. They had a great responsiblity before them in laying out and upbuilding the city, and performing their duties without fear or favor, looking only to the welfare and true interests of the people. Resolutions which were required to be presented in writing, consisted in part of assigning duties, balloting, making appointments, setting fees, recording and keeping council papers at all times, determining the width and direction of streets, establishing city limits, making arrangements for the housing of criminals and offenders, defining regulations of harbor and city, authorizing payment of bills, employing a translator, and posting of all resolutions in a public place in both russian and english. The Council also prepared and presented a memorial to Congress, which requested a territorial government for the Territory of Alaska.
Record of cases in Mayor's Court, City of Sitka, Territory of AlaskaRecord of cases in Mayor's Court, City of Sitka, Territory of Alaska [microform], 1867 Dec. 5-1872 Nov. 20. Records of the formation of municipal government in Sitka, 1867 Nov.-1873 Jan.
Call Number: 3850 ALASKA MFILM
1 reel. Court cases and records of the formation of municipal government in Sitka.

There are many different organizational records in APRCA that discuss political action. The ones highlighted here are both partisan and non-partisan organizations that have been heavily involved in various policy and political activities in Alaska.

Alaska Conservation Society Records. 1960-1993
41 cu. ft. The Alaska Conservation Society was formed in 1960 by twelve Alaskans from the College area who wished "to secure the wise use, protection, and preservation of the scenic, scientific, recreational, wildlife, and wilderness values of Alaska." Its publication, News Bulletin, became a voice for the society on such matters as its support for the establishment of the arctic wildlife refuge and its opposition to the construction of Rampart Dam and to Project Chariot, the proposed nuclear excavation at Cape Thompson.
Alaska Native Review Commission Records. 1983-1985
23 cu. ft. The Alaska Native Review Commission Records consist of transcripts of all the hearings conducted by the Commission; correspondence of the Commission; complete files of press and media materials about the Commission; a group of reports and papers gathered by the Commission's staff; and a small number of photographs. The Commission was created in July of 1983 by the Inuit Circumpolar Conference to review the effects of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act.
Interior Village Association Records. 1975-1984
13. cu. ft. The Interior Village Association Records consist of general office files of the Association and the files of its land department. The files contain correspondence, materials for training seminars presented by the Association, and photocopies of regulations, laws, legal decisions, land use studies, and other reference material pertaining to land and resource management in Alaska and the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act.
League of Women Voters of Alaska. 1964 - [ongoing]
20 cu. ft. This collection consists of records relating to the League of Women Voters of Alaska, including material from the state office and from league groups in Anchorage, Juneau, Fairbanks, the Tanana Valley, Ketchikan, and Kodiak. Among the documents are promotional and research materials, board reports, correspondence, and administrative papers.
Northern Alaska Environmental Center Records. 1971-1999
55 cu. ft. The organization was named the Fairbanks Environmental Center with its mission described as "dedicated to the protection of the quality of the Alaskan environment through education and action." Among many issues, the Center has represented northern environmental concerns in the ANILCA (d)(2) and Alaska National Wildlife Refuge land battles and the development of the Susitna Dam, the Trans-Alaska Pipeline, and the North Slope Haul Road. In 1981, the Center changed its name to the Northern Alaska Environmental Center.

Don Young is interviewed by Jeff Kennedy in Fairbanks, Alaska in 1975.
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 01-76-05
Don Young talks about the role of government in our lives, losing individual freedoms, increase in governmental agencies being detrimental to individual freedom, big government, laws protecting one's body, and laws concerning education.
Don Young is interviewed by Jeff Kennedy in 1975 ; Claude Demientieff is interviewed by Jeff Kennedy in 1975.
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 88-49-45
Don Young talks about the amendment bill to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, what the bill entails, extending the enrollment dates, escrow money, land for Sealaska, exclusion of settlement money from income, support for the bill, claims of trespass in arctic Alaska, and the status of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act. Claude Demientieff talks about the Self-Determination Act, changes in how the U.S. government arranges contracts with local organizations, the Northern Alaska Health Resource Association, getting young Alaskan Natives interested in health careers, and Indian self-determination happening with expertise among Native peoples.
Title: Ernest Gruening is interviewed by Sherwood Ross on May 2, 1967 in Washington D.C. Ernest Gruening is interviewed by Sherwood Ross on May 2, 1967 in Washington D.C.
Call Number: ORAL HISTORY 2017-10
Ernest Gruening talks about his childhood, managing a newspaper, why he became a Democrat, his political activities, and international experiences, including Puerto Rico and Haiti. Recorded in the office of Senator Gruening in Washington, D.C. on May 2, 1967.

Research Tools: Alaska Political Collections

Contact the Alaska and Polar Regions Collections & Archives (APRCA)

Alaska Political Collections

Selected Archival Collections Related to Alaska Politics