Guides: Research on Alcohol in Alaska: Research Tips

Research Tips

Use your UAF email login and password to access library databases from off campus. If you need help with any of these resources, contact the library Reference Desk.

Alaska & Polar Periodical Index
This database looks just like the catalog, but searches for periodical articles about Alaska or published in Alaska. Keep your search simple in this index; just try "alcohol." You don't need to use the word "Alaska" because it's implied in the overall content of the index.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1994
This database of government documents starts in the early 19th century, so the exploration, acquisition and settlement period of Alaskan history is covered. You'll find official letters, reports and testimony to Congress by a variety of officials observing the use of alcohol in Alaska.
The United States Congressional Serial Set is an extensive collection of publications continually issued and compiled under the direction of Congress since 1817. It is often viewed as a key primary resource documenting the history of growth and development of the entire country. Most U.S. government publications of the 19th century were Congressional and therefore included in the Serial Set. Many of the historically important exploration surveys, scientific reports, and ethnological reports from that era were published in Serial Set volumes. The set was reduced in size and scope around World War I, but it remains an important source for tracing legislative history and the intent of Congress.

The set now numbers over 15,000 volumes. The UAF library has a small collection of the original printed volumes having extensive Alaskan content or major national topical significance. The online version includes the full text and high resolution images of accompanying maps and illustrative material for the entire set up to 1994. A simple search for “Alaska” results in over 3800 citations. Included are the Alaska Purchase Treaty of 1867, reports from several territorial governors, several 19th century exploration surveys, the proceedings of the Alaskan Boundary Tribunal, and legislative reports pertaining to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act and the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act.

To choose from among the 180+ databases/indexes that Rasmuson Library has available, start with the ones listed on the Best Places to Start Your Research tab of this guide.

For other topics:

Consider Alaska newspapers for historical news articles. The library has microfilm Alaskan newspapers back to the early 20th century, but unfortunately the historical indexing for them is not great, so it helps if you know the date, issue and page numbers for the article you need. Bibliographies included in other articles or books can help. Current articles from major Alaskan papers are available through various sources.

Consider anthropological databases for scholarly articles analyzing alcohol use patterns in specific Native groups.

Consider psychology or sociology databases for scholarly articles examining counseling approaches, or sociological studies.

Keyword Searching in any Database or Catalog (or Google!)

Sometimes students think the best way to search is to be as specific as possible, including lots of keywords. Sometimes that works, but usually it's better to start out with a very simple search using the main keywords only, such as:

alcohol AND Alaska

If you get way too many hits, then narrow down your search with another keyword. Add one at a time so you can see the results of including each term.

Catalog Subject Searching

Try the following Library of Congress Subject Headings to search our library catalog, or WorldCat, by "subject."

Alcoholism--Social aspects--Alaska

Liquor laws--Alaska--History.

Liquor laws--Alaska--Bethel--History.

Prohibition--Alaska--History.

Prohibition--Alaska--Bethel--History.

Indians of North America--Alaska--Alcohol use--Prevention--History.

Eskimos--Alaska--Alcohol use--Prevention--History.