Journalism Research Guide: Media

Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use introduction to the field of radio studies.

How have we shaped the Information Age, and how has it shaped us? The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content - from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials - is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.

This dictionary provides a basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries, from A&R to zydeco. It is ideal for all students of Media Studies and related subjects, as well as those working for the first time in jobs such as journalism, radio and television production and advertising.

This book covers the key concepts central to understanding recent developments in media and communications studies. Wide-ranging in scope and accessible in style it sets out a useful, clear map of the important theories, methods, and debates.

The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.

Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment.

This inspiring book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped film since its inception. The ideas include innovative concepts, technologies, techniques and movements, from the silent era's masterpieces to today's blockbusters and art house movies, these highly illustrated pages are a chance to rediscover films from five continents.

From scriptwriting through to production, this introduction to animation for students surveys key technical processes and examines a variety of stylistic approaches.

An up-to-date guide to the central areas of applied linguistics and language studies with particular reference to TESOL. It looks at the current state of TESOL as well as at what is likely to happen in the future.

Discusses the many differences in pronunciation, spelling, and vocabulary between British and American English.

In short, delightful essays, Metcalf explicates the key features that make American speech so expressive and distinct. He begins in the South, home of the most easily recognized of American dialects, travels north to New England, then on to the Midwest, the far West, and even to Alaska and Hawaii.

The SAGE Key Concepts series provides students with accessible and authoritative knowledge of the essential topics in a variety of disciplines. Cross-referenced throughout, the format encourages critical evaluation through understanding.

Introduces and examines the key issues, methods, models and debates that define the field of marketing today.

A truly international, authoritative Aâ“Z guide to five centuries of propaganda, in both wartime and peacetime, which covers key moments, techniques, concepts, and some of the most influential propagandists in history.

Covering the intricate facets of America's most important democratic tradition, this book serves as an important resource to understand how citizens' views are translated into governmental action.