Guides: Health, Medicine, & Nursing Research Guide: Articles

Best Bets for Finding Articles

The following databases are the most recommended for starting your article search. You can use these to locate articles in scholarly journals as well as trade publications.

PubMed
Index to journals in basic biological research and clinical medicine.
Developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
MEDLINE
All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
Nursing and Allied Health Source
Coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from over 3,500 journals and more than 34,000 books.
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

More Databases

Didn't find what you were looking for? Try one of these databases.

General Science Full Text
Provides access to full-text articles from a wide range of important publications — from specialized to general interest periodicals — covering science-related questions, topics and subjects.
Full text for nearly 100 periodicals dating back to 1994 and indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Full-text content includes graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed books, journals, and conference proceedings, in all subjects but with significant content in science and technology.
Comprehensive Physiology
Comprehensive collection of physiology information.
TOXLINE
Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Consumer/Layperson Oriented Databases

Alt HealthWatch
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care.
Covers the full range of subject areas in complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990, including full text for more than 140 publications.
Consumer Health Complete
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full-text database covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine, including topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Videos and reference sources are included.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Access to more than 80 full-text consumer health magazines.
This full-text database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics.

Need Help? Contact Us!

AskRasmusonLibrary@uaf.libanswers.com
Phone: 907-474-7482
Text: 907-341-4404