This guide is designed to help get you started with your research. Many of the resources are paid for by Rasmuson Library.
Best Bets for Finding Articles
The following databases are the most recommended for starting your article search. You can use these to locate articles in scholarly journals as well as trade publications.
Contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database.
Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Access to the core literature of biology and agriculture.
includes full text for more than 95 important journals dating as far back as 1986. The database also includes indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications dating back even further, to 1982.
This database benefits any researcher working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens, separating out all the relevant studies in the literature and organizing them in one source for easy reference.
he scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection and immunity in man, other animals and plants. This database is a convenient and time- saving resource for microbiologists as well as research professionals in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology and other related fields.
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed books, journals, and conference proceedings, in all subjects but with significant content in science and technology.
Based in Fairbanks, and in collaboration with our Utqiaġvik (Barrow) Satellite Office, we work with others to deliver conservation over approximately 338-million acres of Alaska.
The BLM Alaska Wildlife Program goal is conservation of wildlife habitat to help ensure self-sustaining populations and a natural abundance, distribution, and diversity of all wildlife.
The Alaska Department of Fish and Game manages fisheries, wildlife, and special areas through science-based, sustainable programs that balance ecological health, public use, economic benefit, and community engagement.
IPCC is the United Nations body that provides governments with regular scientific assessments on climate change, its impacts, and future risks, as well as options for adaptation and mitigation
The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger and improve nutrition and food security.
The U.S. Geological Survey leads national efforts to map mineral resources and analyze the supply chains needed to drive the U.S. economy and national security.
Wildlife for All is a national campaign advocating for a shift from hunter-centric wildlife management to a more democratic, inclusive, and ecologically focused system that values all species and ecosystems.
