William Mills Prize

William Mills Prize for Non-Fiction Polar Books

The Polar Libraries Colloquy is seeking nominations of titles for the 2016 William Mills Prize for Non-Fiction Polar Books.

The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2016.

The William Mills Prize for Non-Fiction Polar Books was established in memory of William Mills, a polar librarian and author, and a core member of Polar Libraries Colloquy during its formative years.

The book prize honors the best Arctic or Antarctic nonfiction books published throughout the world. The prize consists of $300 US, certificates for the author and publisher, and the right to use the William Mills Prize logo when advertising the winning book.

Qualifications for Nomination

    • The book must be nonfiction, about the Arctic or Antarctic.
    • The book may be any type of substantive work of nonfiction, or reference resource. Textbooks, anthologies, translations and new editions will not be considered unless they are truly outstanding contributions to polar literature.
    • Books authored, edited or published by members of the current Polar Libraries Colloquy Steering Committee are not eligible for nomination.
    • Individuals who are not affiliated with the Polar Libraries Colloquy are welcome to submit nominations.
    • The book must have been published for the first time within the two calendar years before the Colloquy at which the award will be given. The timeframe for the 2016 award is January 2014 to December 2015.
    • The official language of the Colloquy is English. For this reason books must be published in an English language version to be eligible.

Nominations: must include information such as author(s), title, publisher and date of publication, and a statement of the reasons why the nominator thinks the book should be considered for the prize and the value of the title to polar literature.

Nominations should be sent via email to Julia Finn, William Mills Prize Coordinator at millsprize@gmail.com

View the list of previous William Mills prize winners.